Importing From Blogger to WordPress.com

When I switched from Blogger to WordPress, I did not import the content of my old blog, Blogging on the Free Web (BFW, from this point on). Since Blogger/Blogspot is free, I decided to leave the old content there. I didn’t take much more than a cursory glance at the guides to migrating from Blogger to WordPress.

I recently noticed on the dashboard of my WordPress.com blog that there’s an Import option. A little further investigation showed that it does indeed import from Blogger to WordPress.com.

So I created a new BFW at WordPress.com, went to Import, and pointed it at the existing BFW at Blogger. A few minutes later, the posts and comments were in the new blog. It didn’t import the template, and hence didn’t import the sidebar, but that’s fine.

At a cursory glance, the content had been imported cleanly. At a slightly less cursory glance, flickr-y posts such as this one are a little messed up. I’ll leave both BFWs around for the forseeable future as an example of an import from Blogger.

All in all, though, well done to the WordPress.com folks on the import tool. I’m not sure how available it is to other WordPress and WPMU sites.

One thought on “Importing From Blogger to WordPress.com”

Leave a Reply

